You are here

Adding and editing areas on your project in Field

A step-by-step guide to adding, editing and deleting areas on your project in Aconex Field.

The areas were preloaded when your project was initially set up in Field.

On this page

  • Adding areas to your project
  • Editing areas in your project
  • Deleting areas from your project

First, go to the Areas section in Field

  1. Log into Aconex Field on the web.
  2. Click Settings on the right-hand side of the screen.
Settings tab in Aconex Field
  1. Select Areas under General Settings.
    This will display the areas that are currently available in your project.
     
Areas button in Field
  1. Find the area that you want to add sub-areas to. Click on the arrow icon to expand or contract the areas of your project.
Expand an area

We've clicked on the Main Events area. Now we can see Ground Floor, Level 00 and Level 01.

Adding an area to your project

To add areas to your project, first ensure the project hierarchy has been created in Aconex Field. Then:

  1. Select the relevant area.
  2. Click on Add Areas.
  3. Under Add Areas, type the name of the new sub-area.
  1. Press Enter or click the Add button.
Reception lobby

An alternative way to add new areas to your project is to paste in a prepared list of the new areas.

  1. Continue to add other areas to the selected location. To remove an area from the list, click on the cross icon next to it.
  2. Once you're finished adding and deleting areas, click the Save button.  
  3. Made an error you don't want to save? Click the Cancel button, and start again.

Editing areas in your project

  1. Click on the name of the area you want to edit.
  1. Make your changes to the area.
  2. Select OK or press Enter to save your changes, or click Cancel to abandon the changes if you've made an error.

Deleting areas from your project

An area can only be removed from a project if there are no issues raised against it or its sub-areas. Here's how to do it.

  1. As a Project Administrator, log into Aconex Field on the web.
  2. Click on Settings in top right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Select Areas under General Settings.
  4. Find the area that you want to delete. Clicking on the arrow icon to expand or contract areas as you need to.
  5. Select the relevant area and click the Delete button.
Deleting an area

If you delete an area, you'll automatically delete its sub-areas, too.

Feedback